If you are going to sell stuff on eBay, do it properly

Although, I do like eBay for the purchase of diecast when it is practically impossible to buy certain types of models locally, it does wind me up when eBay sellers try it on with the consumer.

Inspired by Mary Portas’ recent series on the UK’s Ch4, I think that it is right to ensure that sellers correctly sell their stuff, rather than blag their way through a sale.

It also helps being a smart arse when you know you are 110% correct.

The e-mail below is a win for the consumer – albeit, you are always going to get sellers everything is “rare” and difficult to get hold of. Better to do your homework, before you buy – could end up paying more than necessary…..

NOTE: the listing has now been changed……read from the bottom up.

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: eBay Member:
To:
Cc:
Sent: Sunday, 13 February 2011, 15:23
Subject: Re: Details about the item: keefgranturismo sent a message about MATCHBOX 2011- VOLKSWAGEN T2 BUS 13/75 MINT -RARE #360343888589

Dear keefgranturismo,

Should be 2010

Cheers

– hotmatch-collectibles

Reply in your email program or through My Messages
Respond Now

From: keefgranturismo
To: hotmatch-collectibles
Subject: Details about the item: keefgranturismo sent a message about MATCHBOX 2011- VOLKSWAGEN T2 BUS 13/75 MINT -RARE #360343888589
Sent Date: 13-Feb-11 11:10:55 GMT

Dear hotmatch-collectibles,

Hi there,

I am interested in this model – BUT

as the 1-75 range has not been released yet for 2011, this model seems to be the 2010 2nd colour variation, on a 2010 short card.

please could you advise why it is listed as a 2011 1-75 model?

Many thanks

Keith

– keefgranturismo

2 thoughts on “If you are going to sell stuff on eBay, do it properly

  1. I would be lost without EBAY and not that daft name ofas, which pops up on another site.I list and send as I would like to receive.I buy loads and sell loads on EBAY.I do not profit from it and use what I do not want to fund what I do want.I even have plenty of regular customers who come back for more of my selling lines,and vice versa I buy from my regular sellers as well.

    Like

  2. I like this attitude William – I still buy my 1/43's from Japan and HK from eBay as you simply cannot buy these models (like Ebbro, Kyosho, Hi-Story), from great sellers that I regularly buy from. I have also had a number of SuperKings as well bought off eBay as well, which I would never have owned if it wasn't for the site

    Yes, I have no idea why eBay is such a “dirty” word in some circles…..but it does annoy me that some so called sellers who believe that they are diecast experts do list such things inaccurately – the trick is honesty and quality – repeat customers who see value in these traits will always come back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

