What did we learn about Sunday? Ayew and Masuaku sign.

Well, it has been quite a week. For me I am knackered – dealing with a four year old with a gob takes its toll as well as trying to get a four month old into a routine.

Which does not bode well for watching the Hammers this term. So much so, that I totally missed the time for the Betway Cup game on Sunday against Serie A champions Juventus.

I quickly caught the second half on BT Sport. Inbetween parenting duty……..

Of note, Andy Carroll scores twice against top class opposition. If he continues and stays fit, I am sure that he will be a major asset for us this term. Payet comes back and gets a little bit of pitch time under his belt. However, there may be issues at the back. OK, it was a young side in the second half, but we got undone proper for Juve’s third goal by Zaza. So West Ham lose another cup (that famous Betway Cup ranks up there with the Champions League), but this was not a shoddy performance. It was a good pre-season exercise before Monday’s opener against Chelsea.

I do think that with the so called big clubs strengthening their sides with massive signings, Man Utd especially, this is where the team needs to concentrate on. Clean sheets and a solid goal difference can only help the campaign as supporters will now demand a top 6 as a minimum. No point having a massive 60k seater and languishing in mid-table.

Highlights are below:

The Hammers have also broken their transfer record by signing Ghanaian international Andrew Ayew for £20.5m. I am not too convinced about this, but want to be proven wrong. I didn’t pay much attention to Swansea last season, but scored 12 goals in his first season in the Premiership. Someone wrote on FB that although we may question the signing, Slav knows what he is doing. Look at Payet. And Payet played with Ayew at Marseille……………could be summat……….

We also splashed out £6m on French left-back Arthur Masuaku from Olympiakos on a four-year contract, due to Cresswell being out for four months.

Masuaku, who will wear the number 26 shirt, made his international debut alongside Paul Pogba for the French Under-18 side in 2011.

During his time in Ligue 1 he played against West Ham’s former Marseille forward Dimitri Payet.

“I was speaking with my agent about some opportunities, but when he told me about West Ham and also the coach, I didn’t think twice,” Masuaku told the West Ham website.

“For me, the Premier League is the biggest league in the world. When I was 18, my target was to come here, so now I am here, I have to prove myself to the fans and to the team.”

I do hope that this is good cover in this department rather than a mercenary…….or better still, Reece Oxford needs a few games.

Leave a Reply

