Completely had enough – Hammers 1, Gooners 5

This was my last match of 2016, so a final farewell to this year to the Hammers. I am looking to establish new pre-match rituals before the game – so my new eatery of choice is KFC inside Westfield. Makes a lot better sense than the outside eateries at the LS, which are over priced.

I was not expecting a result at all – possibly a 2-1 defeat, which would be annoying, but then again Arsenal are not in the top half of the table for no reason. I am yet to feel fully at home at the London Stadium, but this is going to take time – we have moved for the right reasons, but I am yet to understand the mass of light green fabric and why the stands could not have utilised this space.

I digress.

The game had its omens on 7 mins when the Ginger Pele went off and Arbeloa came on in his place – you can see why Madrid let him go…….

It was just far too easy for the Goodness, Ozil getting the goal and our defence once again going AWOL.Sanchez then gets his second and the signs are ominous.

With Sanchez getting the third, it was game over – and with that goal on 80 minutes, my departure from the London Stadium. I simply had enough – enough of the nervy defending, Payet going on leave, lack of fight and spirit within the team. I was getting beeped a lot by my phone which gave me updates on the score as I headed to Westfield to escape. My mate Al always told me never to leave a game early, and he was right.

Another three more goals went in, with Andy Carroll nodding in a free kick from Payet., but the Sanchez show was in town and watching MOTD, it was something else. More to the point West Ham collapsed.

I was so annoyed with the performance on Sat, I am now questioning my reasons for being a ST. I also witnessed our own fans taking it out on each other in the tube station, and giving stewards some unnecessary abuse. This is not where I want to be with the Hammers at all. But I can’t help thinking we are going to get sucked into a relegation battle now over Xmas.

And next is Liverpool away, a game last year where we beat them for the first time sine 1963. Cannot see that result happening again.

Fellow supporters are saying that you need to stick with the team through thick and thin, and they are right. However, my frustration got the better of me this weekend for teh first time. We have so much promise in the side, we just should not be where we are.

In Slaven We Trust – at the moment I really am not sure.

West Ham boss Slaven Bilic on BT Sport: “I am not looking for excuses. Yes, we had injuries and mistakes, but we were not good enough.

“It was a big humiliation. I feel sorry for the fans and the club. We played some good games in this season, and had some good moments today even at 0-0 and 1-0 down.

“But I have to be honest and say we don’t have the intensity and from the dedication comes the quality. We don’t have it the same as last season, even in training.

“We are in a serious situation before this game which we don’t like. The players know that, but it’s not only about knowing but sacrificing, and your dedication for the game.”

West Ham: Randolph; Collins (Arbeloa 7), Reid, Ogbonna; Fernandes (Ayew 63), Noble (Carroll 72), Obiang, Masuaku; Lanzini, Payet, Fletcher

Subs not used: Adrian, Nordtveit, Feghouli, Zaza
Bookings: Fletcher, Reid, Arbeloa

Arsenal: Cech; Gabriel, Mustafi, Koscielny, Monreal; Coquelin, Xhaka; Walcott (Ramsey 660, Özil (Iwobi 87), Oxlade-Chamberlain; Sánchez

Subs not used: Gibbs, Pérez, Ospina, Holding, Elneny

Bookings: Coquelin, Koscielny, Mustafi

Referee: Craig Pawson

 

 

One thought on “Completely had enough – Hammers 1, Gooners 5

  1. Pingback: Acts of kindness  | Musings from my Garage

Leave a Reply

